Aviation Security Explained

Data tables

Registered and trusted traveller programmes: fees, validity and eligibility

A trusted traveller programme lets vetted, pre-approved travellers use faster lanes or gates. Applicants pay a fee and give personal data, and the agency checks them on joining and on an ongoing basis 1. Fees range from nothing, as with India's FTI-TTP and Hong Kong's e-Channel for frequent visitors, to 370 euros a year for Privium Plus at Schiphol 14,810. US Global Entry costs $120 for five years 1. UK Registered Traveller costs 70 pounds for 12 months 6.

Last checked: 14 sources

What these programmes are

US Customs and Border Protection (CBP) describes its programmes as giving pre-approved, low-risk travellers dedicated processing. Members apply voluntarily, pay a fee and provide personal data. CBP vets them when they apply and keeps vetting them after they join. CBP says this lets it focus on higher-risk travellers 1.

Programmes differ in what they speed up. Global Entry, NEXUS, SENTRI, UK Registered Traveller and the Asian e-Channel schemes cover border control. TSA PreCheck covers security screening at US airports 5. Privium at Amsterdam Schiphol uses an iris-based card 10. Some gate schemes need no membership at all, such as Australia's arrival SmartGates 7.

Programme table

Fees and rules as published on the source date. Where an official page we opened does not state a detail, the cell says so.

ProgrammeRun byWho can applyFeeValidityOfficial link
Global Entry (US)CBPUS citizens, US nationals and US lawful permanent residents. Certain nationals of countries that have a trusted traveller arrangement with CBP, once announced in the Federal Register 2$120, non-refundable, from 1 October 2024. Previously $100 15 years 1ttp.cbp.dhs.gov 1,2
NEXUS (US and Canada)Canada Border Services Agency and CBP jointly 3Low-risk, pre-approved travellers. Everyone needs their own card 3US$120, non-refundable. Children under 18 free 35 years 3cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/prog/nexus 3
SENTRI (US land border with Mexico)CBPPre-approved travellers using land ports on the US-Mexico border 1$120 in total from 1 October 2024. Previously $122.25 15 years 1ttp.cbp.dhs.gov 1
TSA PreCheck (US)Transportation Security AdministrationApplicants who pass a Security Threat Assessment. They provide proof of citizenship or immigration status and biometrics 5$77.95 to $85 to enrol, depending on the enrolment provider. Renewal $68.95 to $78 4Not stated on the TSA page we opened 4tsa.gov/precheck 4
Registered Traveller (UK)Home OfficeAge 18 or over, with a passport from a listed country such as Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Israel, Malaysia, Mexico or Taiwan. They must hold an eligible UK visa, or 4 visits to the UK in the last 24 months if they do not need a visa 670 pounds. 50 pounds back if refused. Renewal 50 pounds 612 months 6gov.uk/registered-traveller 6
SmartGate arrivals (Australia)Australian Border ForceAnyone travelling on a valid passport may try arrival SmartGates. Children 7 and over with a parent or guardian 7No enrolment described on the page 7Not a membership 7abf.gov.au 7
e-Channel for frequent visitors (Hong Kong)Immigration DepartmentFrom 27 February 2026, visitors with valid travel documents who arrived through Hong Kong International Airport two or more times in the past 24 months and meet the criteria 8Free 8Not stated in the release 8immd.gov.hk 8
Smart Entry Service, SES (South Korea)Korea Immigration ServiceKoreans aged 7 and over. Registered foreigners aged 17 and over, Korea Priority Card holders, some crew, and citizens of countries with a mutual-use agreement: the USA, Hong Kong and Macao 9Not stated on the page 9Not stated on the page 9immigration.go.kr 9
APEC Business Travel CardEach participating economy issues its own card 11Bona fide business travellers from participating economies 11. US cards go to US citizens who are members of a CBP trusted traveller programme 12Set by each economy. US card: $70 12Normally 5 years for applications from 1 September 2015 11,12immd.gov.hk (Hong Kong issuer page) 11
Privium (Netherlands)Amsterdam Airport SchipholNot stated on the pages we opened 10Basic 190 euros, Extra 235 euros, Plus 370 euros a year including VAT. Plus Trial 95 euros for three months 10Yearly. Plus Trial three months 10schiphol.nl/en/privium 10
EasyPASS-RTP (Germany)Federal Police (Bundespolizei)Citizens of the USA, Hong Kong SAR, South Korea, Taiwan and the UK with an electronic passport, after registration. Age 12 and over 13Not stated on the page 13Not stated on the page 13bundespolizei.de 13
FTI-TTP (India)Ministry of Home AffairsIndian nationals and foreign nationals holding an OCI card 14Free 1410 years or until the passport expires, whichever is sooner 14ftittp.mha.gov.in 14

US fees changed in October 2024

A CBP final rule published on 2 April 2024 harmonised the fees for Global Entry and SENTRI from 1 October 2024. The Global Entry fee rose from $100 to $120. The total SENTRI fee fell from $122.25 to $120. CBP said its fee study found $120 appropriate to recover a reasonable portion of its costs 1.

The rule exempts minors from the Global Entry and SENTRI fee if they apply with a parent or legal guardian, or if the parent or guardian is already a member of the same programme. Other minors pay the $120 fee 1. The Canada Border Services Agency says the NEXUS fee rose to US$120 for a five-year membership from 1 October 2024 and that children under 18 are free 3.

Programmes that work together

The US programmes share benefits. A table in the 2024 rule shows that SENTRI, Global Entry and NEXUS members can all use SENTRI lanes and NEXUS lanes into the United States. NEXUS members can use Global Entry kiosks if they meet the Global Entry processing rules 1. NEXUS members can use TSA PreCheck lines at over 200 US airports, according to the CBSA 3.

Some countries open their own gates to members of partner schemes. Germany lets US, Hong Kong, South Korean, Taiwanese and UK citizens use EasyPASS gates after registering for EasyPASS-RTP 13. South Korea lets citizens of the USA, Hong Kong and Macao use its Smart Entry Service under mutual agreements 9. APEC Business Travel Card holders can use fast-track lanes at US international airports and special lanes at major Canadian airports, though they still need a valid passport and, where required, a visa 11.

Free and automatic schemes

Not every fast lane costs money. India's FTI-TTP is a free service for Indian nationals and OCI cardholders 14. Hong Kong lets qualifying frequent visitors enrol for the e-Channel free of charge. From 27 February 2026, visitors with electronic travel documents no longer give fingerprints at enrolment. They show their travel document, have a photo taken and sign a consent form 8.

Australia is moving SmartGate towards universal access for travellers aged 7 and over. The Australian Border Force says anyone travelling on a valid passport can now try the arrival SmartGates, where an ePassport was needed before 7.

What you give in return

Members hand over personal data. TSA says PreCheck applicants provide their name, date of birth, address, country of birth, images of identity documents, proof of citizenship or immigration status, and biometrics. TSA sends fingerprints to the FBI. The FBI may keep them and keep comparing them under its Rap Back programme until the applicant's Security Threat Assessment expires. TSA enrols the biometrics in the DHS IDENT system and its successor HART for recurrent vetting 5.

Approved PreCheck members get a Known Traveler Number to add to airline bookings. It gives eligibility for expedited screening on flights from US airports and some international locations, including Nassau in the Bahamas 5. Privium builds its card from the member's passport details and iris pattern 10.

Limits of this table

We could not open CBP's own Global Entry page, so eligibility for Global Entry comes from the federal regulation, which lets CBP add partner countries by notice 2. We found no Singapore programme called FAST. The US FAST programme is a CBP scheme for pre-approved commercial truck drivers at land borders, not air travellers 1. Singapore lets foreign visitors use automated lanes on arrival without enrolment, as our eGates table shows. Fees may change. Check the official page before you apply.

Common questions

How much does Global Entry cost?

$120 for a five-year membership, from 1 October 2024 1.

Do children pay for Global Entry?

Not if they apply with a parent or legal guardian, or if a parent or guardian is already a member. Other minors pay the $120 fee 1.

Who can join UK Registered Traveller?

Adults with a passport from a listed country who hold an eligible UK visa or have visited the UK 4 times in 24 months. It costs 70 pounds a year 6.

Is there a free trusted traveller programme?

Yes. India's FTI-TTP is free 14, and Hong Kong's e-Channel for frequent visitors is free to enrol 8.

How long is an APEC Business Travel Card valid?

Normally five years for applications lodged from 1 September 2015 11.

Related

Sources

  1. Federal Register (govinfo), CBP: Harmonization of the fees and application procedures for the Global Entry and SENTRI programs, final rule (2 April 2024, effective 1 October 2024)
  2. eCFR: 8 CFR 235.12, Global Entry program (current text, checked 19 October 2026)
  3. Canada Border Services Agency: NEXUS (checked 19 October 2026)
  4. TSA: TSA PreCheck (checked 19 October 2026)
  5. Federal Register (govinfo), TSA: Revision of agency information collection activity, TSA PreCheck Application Program (3 June 2026)
  6. GOV.UK: Registered Traveller, faster entry through the UK border (checked 19 October 2026)
  7. Australian Border Force: Who can use SmartGates (checked 19 October 2026)
  8. Hong Kong Immigration Department: ImmD relaxes eligibility criteria for enrolment of e-Channel service for frequent visitors (26 February 2026)
  9. Korea Immigration Service: Smart Entry Service, about the scheme (checked 19 October 2026)
  10. Amsterdam Airport Schiphol: Privium memberships (checked 19 October 2026)
  11. Hong Kong Immigration Department: APEC Business Travel Card (checked 19 October 2026)
  12. Federal Register (govinfo), CBP: The U.S. Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Business Travel Card Program, final rule (23 November 2016)
  13. Bundespolizei (Germany): Wer kann EasyPASS nutzen? (checked 19 October 2026)
  14. Ministry of Home Affairs (India): FTI-TTP portal (checked 19 October 2026)

Spotted an error? Write to [email protected]. See how we work on the methodology page.