Aviation Security Explained

Data tables

Electronic travel authorisation schemes around the world

An electronic travel authorisation is an online pre-check for travellers who do not need a visa. As of 19 October 2026, this table lists 11 running schemes, including the US ESTA, Canada's eTA, the UK ETA, Australia's ETA, New Zealand's NZeTA, South Korea's K-ETA and Israel's ETA-IL 1,23,45,13,14. It lists three announced schemes that are not yet running: the EU's ETIAS, Japan's JESTA and Thailand's ETA 6,18,19.

Last checked: 20 sources

What counts as a travel authorisation

This table covers schemes for people who do not need a visa. They apply online before travel, give passport and personal details, answer security questions and pay a fee where one applies. The EU says an ETIAS authorisation will not be a visa 6. The UK says an ETA does not guarantee entry, and a border officer still decides on arrival 3.

E-visas are left out. An e-visa is a visa applied for online by people who need one. Our page on e-visas explains the difference. Sri Lanka is a borderline case. Its portal calls the ETA a tourist visa, so we label it that way 15.

Schemes table

Fees and rules change often. Each cell cites its source. Use the official site in the last column and check the web address with care. Many copycat sites charge more 3,6. Where a source did not state validity, the cell says so.

Country or areaSchemeStatus and startFeeValidityOfficial site
United StatesESTA (Electronic System for Travel Authorization)RunningUS$40.62 from 16 October 2026. US$10.62 if denied 1See official siteesta.cbp.dhs.gov
CanadaeTA (Electronic Travel Authorization)Running. For air travel to or through Canada 2CAN$7 2Not stated on the official page 2canada.ca/eta 2
United KingdomETA (electronic travel authorisation)Running 3£20 32 years or until the passport expires. Visits of up to 6 months 3gov.uk/eta 3
AustraliaETA (subclass 601)Running 4AUD20 app service charge, no other charge 412 months. Stays of up to 3 months each time 4immi.homeaffairs.gov.au 4
New ZealandNZeTARunning 5From NZD 17 52 years (5 years for airline crew). Stays of up to 3 months, 6 months for UK citizens 5immigration.govt.nz 5
South KoreaK-ETARunning from 2021. Nationals of 22 countries exempt from 1 January to 31 December 2026 13About US$7 to 8, per the portal 12. KRW 10,000 in 2022 13Not confirmedk-eta.go.kr 12
IsraelETA-ILMandatory from 1 January 2025 for visa-exempt visitors 14ILS 25 142 years or until the passport expires. Stays of up to 90 days 14israel-entry.piba.gov.il 14,20
KenyaeTARunning. Unveiled 5 January 2024 10. More countries exempted in June 2025 11US$30 at launch 10Not confirmedetakenya.go.ke 9
Sri LankaETA (used as an online tourist visa)Running. Free for nationals of 40 listed countries from 25 May 2026 15Free for the 40 listed countries. Other fees on the portal 1530 days, double entry, under the free scheme 15eta.gov.lk 15
SeychellesTravel AuthorisationRunning 16€10 16Not confirmedseychelles.govtas.com 16
Hong KongPre-arrival registration (Indian nationals only)Running 17Free 176 months. Multiple visits of up to 14 days 17immd.gov.hk 17
European Union and Schengen statesETIASAnnounced, not running as of 19 October 2026 6. No start date published 6,8€20. Free for under 18s and over 70s 63 years or until the passport expires 6travel-europe.europa.eu/etias 6
JapanJESTAAnnounced. Cabinet approved the bill on 10 March 2026. Target: fiscal 2028 18Not set 18Not setNone yet
ThailandETAAnnounced, then postponed with no date, as of November 2024 19Free, per the plan 19One visit per application, per the plan 19None confirmed

Running schemes: points to note

  • United States: DHS set the total ESTA fee at $40.62 from 16 October 2026. It is made up of $17, a $10.62 cost recovery fee and $13. A denied applicant pays $10.62 1.
  • Canada: the eTA is for travellers who fly to or transit through a Canadian airport. Applicants need a passport, a card and an email address 2.
  • United Kingdom: the ETA costs £20 and allows visits of up to 6 months 3.
  • Australia: the only charge is the AUD20 service charge to use the Australian ETA app 4.
  • New Zealand: the NZeTA costs from NZD 17 and lasts 2 years for most travellers. Processing can take up to 72 hours 5.
  • South Korea: nationals of 22 countries, including Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Japan, the UK and the US, do not need a K-ETA from 1 January to 31 December 2026. They may still apply and pay 13.
  • Israel: ETA-IL became mandatory for visa-exempt tourists on 1 January 2025. Travellers apply up to 72 hours before arrival 14.
  • Kenya: the eTA was unveiled on 5 January 2024 under regulations gazetted on 2 January 2024 10. In June 2025 Kenya exempted more countries 11.
  • Hong Kong: Indian nationals must register before a visa-free visit of up to 14 days. Those in direct air transit who stay in the airport do not need to 17.

Announced schemes not yet running

ETIAS will cover visa-free visitors to 30 European countries for short stays 7. As of 19 October 2026 it is not in operation. The official FAQ, last edited on 28 August 2026, says no applications are being collected. The EU will announce the start date several months ahead 6. In July 2026 press reports said the launch could slip to 2027 8.

Japan's Cabinet approved a bill on 10 March 2026 to amend the Immigration Control and Refugee Recognition Act and create JESTA. Visa-exempt visitors would submit personal details online before departure. The target start is fiscal 2028. The fee will be set with reference to other countries 18.

Thailand planned a free ETA for visa-exempt visitors, with a pilot by December 2024 and a full launch by June 2025. In November 2024 the launch was pushed back with no new date 19. We found no later official start date.

How to spot an official site

Governments warn about third-party sites. GOV.UK says other sites may charge more and give no faster decision 3. The EU says any amount above €20 paid for ETIAS goes to an intermediary 6. Korea's K-ETA portal warns about lookalike agency and phishing sites that charge high fees 12. ATTA, a travel trade body, says Seychelles travel authorisations go through the official government website only 16.

What this table leaves out

We list only schemes we could confirm from an official page or a dated report we opened. Other ETA-type schemes exist or have been announced. We left them out where we could not confirm the scheme name, fee and status as of 19 October 2026. Arrival cards filed online, such as digital arrival forms, are not travel authorisations and are not listed.

Common questions

Is an ETA the same as a visa?

No. The EU says an ETIAS authorisation will not be a visa 6. ETAs are for travellers who are visa-exempt. Holders still face checks at the border 3.

Which travel authorisation is the cheapest?

Among those in the table, Hong Kong's pre-arrival registration for Indian nationals is free 17. Sri Lanka's ETA is free for 40 listed countries from 25 May 2026 15. Canada's eTA costs CAN$7 2.

When does ETIAS start?

No start date had been published as of 19 October 2026. The EU says it will announce the date several months before launch 6.

Does an approved ETA guarantee entry?

No. The UK says an ETA does not guarantee entry and border officers decide on arrival 3. Hong Kong says the same of its pre-arrival registration 17.

Related

Sources

  1. Federal Register, DHS: Certain DHS immigration-related fees required by HR-1, fiscal year 2027 adjustments for inflation (1 October 2026)
  2. Government of Canada, IRCC: Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) (modified 5 June 2026)
  3. GOV.UK: Get an electronic travel authorisation (ETA) to visit the UK (updated 18 September 2026)
  4. Australian Government, Department of Home Affairs: Electronic Travel Authority (subclass 601) (checked 19 October 2026)
  5. Immigration New Zealand: New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority (NZeTA) (checked 19 October 2026)
  6. European Union, Travel Europe: ETIAS official website and FAQ (FAQ last edited 28 August 2026)
  7. European Commission, DG Migration and Home Affairs: European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) (6 October 2025)
  8. VisasNews: ETIAS launch could be pushed back to 2027 (7 July 2026)
  9. Kenya Directorate of Immigration Services: Electronic Travel Authorisation (eTA) portal (checked 19 October 2026)
  10. Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr: Electronic Travel Authorisation, visa in disguise? (5 February 2024)
  11. The EastAfrican: Kenya exempts more countries from eTA rules (7 June 2025)
  12. Ministry of Justice (Republic of Korea): K-ETA official portal, guidance page (checked 19 October 2026)
  13. LoyaltyLobby: South Korea extends K-ETA waiver through December 2026 for select nationals of 22 countries (2 January 2026)
  14. Embassy of Israel in Singapore: ETA-IL (checked 19 October 2026)
  15. Department of Immigration and Emigration (Sri Lanka): ETA portal (checked 19 October 2026)
  16. ATTA: Seychelles Electronic Border System remains the official government website for travel authorisations (9 February 2024)
  17. Hong Kong Immigration Department: Pre-arrival registration for Indian nationals (checked 19 October 2026)
  18. The Standard (Hong Kong): Japan approves JESTA e-travel authorization, visa-free pre-screening from 2028 (10 March 2026)
  19. Executive Traveller: Thailand pushes back new visitor rules, adds tourist tax (7 November 2024)
  20. Israel Population and Immigration Authority: ETA-IL application site

Spotted an error? Write to [email protected]. See how we work on the methodology page.